Cesaria Evora - Nha sentimento

Posted By MiOd On Thursday, October 31, 2013 Under ,
With who knows how many albums made in her 45-year career, famously melancholy Cesaria Evora sounds almost perky on this new offering. Concentrating on the uptempo coladera rhythm, the music gains an unusual, but interesting feel from the use of an Egyptian string section, and despite a stroke last year, the velvet-voiced Evora sounds in fine form.

The soothing, enchanting, mellow sounds of Cesaria Evora, never ceases to amaze me and no matter what this lady sings, she sounds great! The music of Cabo Verde is quite diverse and this album is a great example of this. Many of the songs on this CD have Latin or Middle Eastern rhythms, and tend to be more uptempo in comparison to many of her previous albums, although there are slow and midtempo tunes on the CD as well.

Many of these uptempo tunes make you want to get up and dance and are some of my favorite including: "Serpentina," "Verde" Cabo di Nhas Odjos," Ligereza," "Zinha," "Techom Frio," "Holandesa Co Certeza," I also ejoyed some of her mid tempo tunes, such as "Fatalidade"," Repopsta Menininhas de Monte Sossego," and "Parceria E Irmandade." And of course her melancholy type songs with beautiful words, great instrumentation and orchestration such as: "Sentimiento," "Novia de Ceu," "Mam' Bia E So Mi" is what attracted me to her sound from the very beginning; an easy laid back sound that takes you on a journey to another place.

Cesaria Evora's music can take you anywhere and can be played at any time for anyone. Even if you don't understand the words, she sings with such passion and emotion, you can't help but get in to it because good music speaks to our emotional core and crosses all barriers.

I highly recommend adding this latest CD to your listening collection. For those who are familiar with Cesaria's music, it is a slight step away from her traditional Cape Verdean "morna" sound, but it is not so far away that you can't relate to it. Her music is simply, captivating. I should also add that there is nothing like seeing this barefoot chanteuse perform live!!!

1. Serpentina
2. Verde Cabo Di Nhas Odjos
3. Vento De Sueste
4. Ligereza
5. Zinha
6. Fatalidade
7. Esperana Di Mar Azul
8. Sentimento
9. Tchom Frio
10. Noiva De Ceu
11. Holandesa Co Certeza
12. Resposta Menininhas De Monte Sossego
13. Mam'bia E So Mi
14. Parceria E Irmandade

FLAC (EAC Rip): 390 MB | MP3 - 320 kbs: 140 MB | Scans

Archives have 5% of the information for restoration

Part 1 | Part 2 | Part 3

OR MP3 320 kbps


Post a Comment