Youssou N'Dour - The Guide (Wommat)

Posted By MiOd On Sunday, October 06, 2013 Under
Youssou N'Dour is a Senegalese singer who documents the intersection of the past and the present, so it is no surprise that there is a parable in every song on Wommat (The Guide). The record is propelled by talking drums, a horn section and guitar and bass polyrhythms that will sound familiar to fans of South African township music (or Paul Simon's masterpiece Graceland), and N'Dour's distinctive voice (in Wolof and French, with a smattering of English) is captivating. Unfortunately, The Guide is overproduced and seldom lives up to the promise of "7 Seconds," the vaguely menacing duet with Neneh Cherry. Buy it to hear N'Dour's voice soar through the history and lessons of The Guide.

Youssou N'Dour, a superstar at home in Senegal and in most of Africa, possesses an astonishingly strong and supple high-tenor voice, and he writes tuneful, insightful songs about his fellow West Africans' transition from isolated rural villages to cosmopolitan big cities. The Guide (Wommat) includes several calculated enticements to lure an Anglo-American audience: a bilingual duet with hip-hop star Neneh Cherry on "Seven Seconds," a guest appearance by saxophonist Branford Marsalis on "Without a Smile," and a bilingual version of Bob Dylan's "Chimes of Freedom." The Marsalis and Dylan experiments work, while the Cherry one doesn't, but they're superfluous to the main focus of the album, which is N'Dour's shift from a bandleader to a singer-songwriter with a backing band. The infectious mbalax rhythms of Senegal are still there, but they're pushed down in the mix so the focus is on N'Dour's vocals. There are some missteps, like the simple-minded cheerleading of "Tourista" and "Love One Another," but for the most part N'Dour comes across as the Stevie Wonder of West Africa.

01. Leaving
02. Old Man
03. Without A Smile
04. Mame Bamba Youssou N'Dour
05. 7 Seconds (Duet With Neneh Cherry)
06. How You Are
07. Generations (Diamono)
08. Tourista
09. Undecided (Japoulo)
10. Love One Another
11. Life
12. My People
13. Oh Boy
14. Silence
15. Chimes Of Freedom

Flac (EAC Rip): 500 MB | MP3 - 320 kbs: 230 MB | Booklet Scans

Archives have 5% of the information for restoration

Part 1 | Part 2 | Part 3

OR MP3 320 kbps
Part 1 | Part 2


Post a Comment